Skip to main content
Thumbnail for Demelza [electronic resource] : Poldark Series, Book 2

Demelza [electronic resource] : Poldark Series, Book 2

Graham, Winston, 1910-20031996
NOW A MAJOR BBC SERIES "From the incomparable Winston Graham... who has everything that anyone else has, then a whole lot more" The Guardian Demelza is the second book in Winston Graham's sweeping series of Cornwall, Poldark. Demelza Carne, the impoverished miner's daughter Ross Poldark rescued from a fairground rabble, is now his wife. But the events of these turbulent years test their marriage and their love. Demelza's efforts to adapt to the ways of the gentry - and her husband - bring her confusion and heartache, despite the joy in the birth of their first child. Ross begins a bitter struggle for the rights of the mining communities - and sows the seed of an enduring enmity with powerful George Warleggan.
[Place of publication not identified] : Pan Macmillan UK, 1996
1 online resource (1 text file)
Winston Graham is the author of more than 40 novels, which include 'Cordelia', 'Marnie', 'The Walking Stick' and 'Stephanie' as well as the highly successful Poldark series. His novels have been translated into 17 languages. Six of Winston Graham's books have been filmed for the big screen, the most notable being 'Marnie', directed by Alfred Hitchcock. Two television series were made of the Poldark novels which were broadcast in 22 countries. Winston Graham was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and in 1983 was awarded the OBE. He died in July 2003.
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list