Skip to main content
Thumbnail for The Children Act [electronic resource]

The Children Act [electronic resource]

McEwan, Ian, 1948-2014
A brilliant, emotionally-wrenching novel from the bestselling author of Atonement, now a major film starring Emma Thompson and Stanley Tucci Fiona Maye, a leading High Court judge, renowned for her fierce intelligence and sensitivity is called on to try an urgent case. For religious reasons, a seventeen-year-old boy is refusing the medical treatment that could save his life. Time is running out. She visits the boy in hospital – an encounter which stirs long-buried feelings in her and powerful new emotions in the boy. But it is Fiona who must ultimately decide whether he lives or dies and her judgement will have momentous consequences for them both. 'Compulsively readable' The Times 'A powerful, humane novel' Evening Standard
[Place of publication not identified] : Random House, 2014
1 online resource (1 text file)
Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; and Nutshell, which was a number-one bestseller. Atonement and Enduring Love have both been turned into award-winning films, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach are in production and set for release this year.
Notable Books for Adults (Notable Books Council)The New York Times Best Seller List (The New York Times)
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list