Skip to main content
Thumbnail for Civil War

Civil War

Ackroyd, Peter, 1949-2014
Books, Manuscripts
In Civil War, Ackroyd begins with the Scottish king, James VI, who became the first Stuart king of England, and ends with the deposition & flight into exile of his grandson, James II. The book gives us a real sense of the lives of ordinary English people.
Main title:
Civil War / by Peter Ackroyd
London Macmillan 2014
502 pages 16 unnumbered pages of plates illustrations (some colour)
Series title:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 471-479) and index.
A new Solomon -- The plot -- The beacons -- The god of money -- The angel -- The vapours -- What news? -- A bohemian tragedy -- The Spanish travellers -- An interlude -- Vivat rex -- A fall from grace -- Take that slime away -- I am the man -- The crack of doom -- The shrimp -- Sudden flashings -- Venture all -- A great and dangerous treason -- Madness and fury -- A world of change -- Worse and worse news -- A world of mischief -- Neither hot nor cold -- The gates of hell -- The women of war -- The face of God -- The mansion house of liberty -- A game to play -- To kill a king -- This house to be let -- Fear and trembling -- Healing and settling -- Is it possible? -- The young gentleman -- Oh, prodigious change! -- On the road -- To rise and piss -- And not dead yet? -- The true force -- Hot news -- New infirmities -- Or at the Cock? -- Noise rhymes to noise -- The Protestant wind
9781447260707 (paperback)
Dewey class:
942.06 CIV
Local class:
View my active saved list
0 items in my active saved list